The Inaugural Energy Efficiency & Supply Forum

November 15 | 2018

9:00 am ET


November 15 | 2018

7:00 pm ET

Embassy of Canada

Visit the registration portal for this event to RSVP.

This event will take take place on Thursday, November 15, 2018 (The Embassy of Canada 501 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC). Please note, space is limited. Advance registration and a valid government- issued photo ID are required. The Canadian Embassy will not accept walk-ins. Register here.

Event Description: The Inaugural Energy Efficiency & Supply Forum builds on the 28-year history of the USEA- Johnson Controls Energy Efficiency Forum and 10 years of the USEA Annual Energy Supply Forum. More than 150 U.S. and international leaders from government and private industry have been invited to discuss the critical nexus between energy efficiency and supply which supports national and international energy policy agreements and local actions.

Event Theme: Speakers and discussion will explore the dimensions of how technology to improve energy efficiency in production, development and delivery, including electricity delivery, go hand in hand with energy supply and a fully integrated energy system.
Battery storage, distributed generation, smart microgrids, customers as ‘prosumers,’ the role of electric vehicles, algae R&D are all topics resonating across the energy sector. Distinguished guests will meet to explore the future implications and practical applications of these topics and more.


▪ 9:00 a.m. – Registration Opens
▪ 10:00 a.m. – Welcome
▪ 10:20 a.m. – Keynote Addresses
▪ 11:20 a.m. – Panel Session: Implications of Direct Use of Fossil Energy vs. Electrification
▪ 12:10 p.m. – Politics of Energy & Climate Change: Post Mid-Term Elections
▪ 12:30 p.m. – Lunch
▪ 1:30 p.m. – Perspectives on Energy & Supply Approaching the Next Decade
▪ 2:30 p.m. – Energy Efficiency Indicator Study
▪ 3:30 p.m. – Coffee Break
▪ 3:45 p.m. – Sub-National Success Stories in Innovation
▪ 4:45 p.m. – The Role of Energy Efficiency in a Resilient & Sustainable Energy Supply
▪ 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. – Reception

Communications For media inquiries, contact USEA’s Director of Communications, Dipka Bhambhani, 202-321-3337.

Confirmed Speakers:
Special Keynote Address: The Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senate; Chairman – U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and Senate Appropriations Interior and Environment Subcommittee

• Ted Atwood, Chief – Office of Sustainable Energy – City of Baltimore, Maryland
• Lisa Bate, Chair – World Green Building Council
• John Betkoski, President – National Association of Regulatory Utility Commission (NARUC); Vice Chairman, Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority
• Dipka Bhambhani, Director of Communications – United States Energy Association
• David Carroll, President & Chief Executive Officer – Gas Technology Institute
• Francisco de la Chesnaye, Ph.D., Senior Manager, Energy and Environmental Analysis –
Electric Power Research Institute
• Dr. Colin Coyne, Chief Strategy Officer – Samford University
• Dan Eberhart, Chief Executive Officer – Canary, LLC
• Jeff Eckel, President & CEO – Hannon Armstrong
• Allan Fogwill, President & CEO – Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI)
• James Freihaut, Professor of Architectural Engineering, College of Engineering –
PennState Institutes of Energy and the Environment
• The Honorable Lawrence Friedeman, Commissioner – Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
• Amy Harder, Reporter – Axios
• Jason Hartke, President & CEO – Alliance to Save Energy
• Sheila Hollis, Partner and Chair, Washington Office – Duane Morris, LLP
• Jay Khosla, Assistant Deputy Minister – Natural Resources Canada (NRCan)
• John Kliem, Executive Director – Resilient Energy Program Office, U.S. Navy
• Chris Lyons, Manager, Strategic Growth & Special Projects – Solar Turbines, Inc.
• Steve MacDonald, Chief Executive Officer – Emissions Reduction Alberta
• Majida Mourad, Vice President, Government Relations – Tellurian Inc.
• Dr. Robert Nachtrieb, Lead Scientist – Lutron Electronics
• Clay Nesler, Vice President, Global Energy & Sustainability – Johnson Controls
• Charles Patton, Executive Vice President, External Affairs – American Electric Power
• William Polen, Senior Director – United States Energy Association
• Maria Vargas, Director, Better Buildings Challenge and Senior Program Adviser – U.S. Department of Energy
• Barry Worthington, Executive Director – United States Energy Association

United States Energy Association, Suite 550, 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20004 Tel: 202/312-1230 Johnson Controls, P.O. Box 423, Milwaukee, WI 53201 Tel: 414/524-4819